Local Municipal Election Candidates Set

Voters will be casting ballots in a few local municipal elections - but not for a couple mayoral spots.
The Municipality of Wawa's released its certified list of candidates for the fall municipal election, with seven people in the running for four council seats: second-term incumbent Bill Chiasson; Sandra Weitzel, who was appointed in February 2017; Pat Tait, who was sworn-in in April; Cathy Cannon and Robert Reece, who both expressed interest at that time but were not chosen; and James Brown and Mitch Hatfield.
Not running: local teacher Julia Rowe, who was appointed to Council alongside Tait.
Mayor Ron Rody will be acclaimed for a second-term, as no-one filed to run against him.
Dubreuilville will similarly acclaim its mayor, as second-term councillor Beverly Nantel was the sole person to file her nomination, though there are six people up for four Council seats: incumbents Leandre Moore and Helene Perth, former councillors Chantal Croft and Hermyle Langlois, and first-time candidates Alain Cyr and Nancy Dery (Rioux).
Chapleau residents will need to vote for all Council seats, as incumbent mayor Michael Levesque's seeking a second term - opposed by past candidate Ryan Bignucolo - while six people want to be councillors: incumbent Gerard Bernier; Rick Smith - who was appointed to Council in early 2017; Lisi Bernier, a former councillor and now acting vice principal at Chapleau High School; Nicolle Schuurman, the principal at Chapleau Public School; Natalie Tessier, the principal of Our Lady of Fatima elementary school; and Alex Lambruschini.
As for local school boards, incumbent English separate trustee Carol MacEachern of Hornepayne will be acclaimed as the local representative on the Huron-Superior Catholic District School Board, while Josee Bouchard will be acclaimed as the French public trustee - she's been a trustee with Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l'Ontario since 2007.
Longtime English Public trustee Russell Reid is up against former Michipicoten First Nation Chief Joe Buckell for the local seat on the Algoma District School Board, while incumbent Garry Bruneau and Luc Tessier both want to represent Chapleau, Wawa, and White River on the local French Separate board, the Conseil scolaire catholique du Nouvel-Ontario, and incumbent Roger Lemoyne and Leo Raymond are both seeking to represent Dubreuilville and Hornepayne on the French Separate board.
The municipal election date for all of Ontario is October 22nd.