Candidates Set for Michipicoten First Nation Elections

Candidates are set for the upcoming Michipicoten First Nation elections.

A release from Michipicoten First Nation confirms the candidates, with two in the running for chief: current Chief Pat Tangie and former chief Joe Buckell.

There are fifteen candidates for five councillor roles, including current councillors John-Paul Chalykoff, Janet Demary, Don Humphries, Evelyn Stone, and William - or Bill - Swanson Sr., as well as: Irene Armstrong; Daniel Beaupre; Sandra Donney-Fraser; Diedre Dupuis, or Boissoneau; Dan Perreault; Linda Peterson; Agnes Stone; Ida Swanson; Myrtle Swanson; and William Swanson Jr.

Roberta Day had been nominated for councillor, but withdrew.

The election will be held March 23rd.