Michipicoten First Nation Election Arrives

Voting will be done tomorrow for the Michipicoten First Nation election.

A notice from Michipicoten First Nation confirms a poll will be held at the Band Hall from 9 am to 8 pm Saturday, March 23rd.

There are two candidates for chief: current Chief Pat Tangie and previous chief Joe Buckell.

There are fifteen candidates for six councillor roles, including current councillors John-Paul Chalykoff, Janet Demary, Don Humphries, Evelyn Stone, and William - or Bill - Swanson Sr., as well as: Irene Armstrong; Daniel Beaupre; Sandra Donney-Fraser; Diedre Dupuis, or Boissoneau; Dan Perreault; Linda Peterson; Agnes Stone; Ida Swanson; Myrtle Swanson; and William Swanson Jr.

The Michipicoten website has videos of statements made by various candidates during last month's Candidate Open Forum.