Michipicoten First Nation Re-Elects Pat Tangie and Mix of Old and New Councillors

Michipicoten First Nation's election is now in the books - with a mix of returning and new councillors chosen, and a chief returning with overwhelming support.

According to a statement of votes, incumbent Chief Patricia - or Pat - Tangie was re-elected with 217 votes, ahead of previous chief Joseph - or Joe - Buckell, who had 95.

312 valid ballots were cast for chief, with 4 more rejected.

Six councillors were chosen: Irene Armstrong with 212 votes; Linda Peterson with 164; John-Paul Chalykoff with 156; Evelyn Stone with 131; Donnie Humphries with 130; and Janet Demary with 120.

Chalykoff, Stone, Humphries, and Demary had all been Councillors heading into the election.

Not elected: Daniel Beaupre (111 votes); Sandra Donney-Fraser (103); William P. Swanson Sr. (102); Myrtle P. Swanson (90); Diedre Dupuis (Boissoneau) (88); Daniel "Dan" Perrault (77); Agnes Stone (58); Ida J. Swanson (58); and William T. Swanson Jr. (43).

313 valid ballots were cast for councillor, with 3 more rejected ballots.