Local Municipal Election Results

In Wawa, Ron Rody was acclaimed to a second term as mayor, while Bill Chiasson will serve a third term as councillor, joined by Pat Tait for his first full term, and new councillors Mitch hatfield and Robert Reece.

For Chapleau, incumbent mayor Michael Levesque's been elected for a second term, joined by incumbent councillor Gerard Bernier, current councillor Rick Smith - who'll serve his first full term - former councillor Lisi Bernier, and Chapleau Public School principal Nicolle Schuurman.

In Dubreuilville, two-term councillor Beverly Nantel was acclaimed, with incumbent councillors Leandre Moore and Helene Perth returning, joined by former councillors Chantal Croft and Hermyle Langlois.

White River's re-elected Angelo Bazzoni as mayor, with incumbent councillors Rodney Swarek and Ted Greenwood, and new councillors Dwijen Bharad and Mark Hubbard.

As for the remaining Superior East Mayors Group member communities, Hornepayne elected Cheryl T. Fort as the new mayor - while outgoing mayor Morley Forster failed to win election in the council race - and Manitouwadge has elected former mayor John MacEachern by a four-vote margin over Peter Ruel.

MacEachern was ousted by Andy Major in 2014, but Major trails at third this year.

For local school boards, incumbent English separate trustee Carol MacEachern of Hornepayne was acclaimed as the local representative on the Huron-Superior Catholic District School Board, while Josee Bouchard was acclaimed as the French public trustee - she's been a trustee with Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l'Ontario since 2007.

Longtime English public trustee Russell Reid was elected to serve another term with the Algoma District School Board, with unofficial results showing he received 1156 votes, compared to 416 for former Michipicoten First Nation chief Joe Buckell.

Incumbents will stay on with the local French separate board, Conseil scolaire catholique du Nouvel-Ontario, as Garry Bruneau defeated Luc Tessier 276-273 to represent Chapleau, Wawa, and White River, while Roger Lemoyne defeated Leo Raymond 123-98 to represent Dubreuilville and Hornepayne.